Back to top

The World Divided by Piper (Hardcover)

The World Divided by Piper By Caela Carter Cover Image
$19.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


From the critically acclaimed author of the ALA Notable and Charlotte Huck Honor Book Forever, or a Long, Long Time comes the story of Piper Franklin, the girl who is way too busy to grow up . . . until she has to. Perfect for fans of Alyson Gerber and Rebecca Stead.

Piper Franklin has big plans. First, she’ll win the Academic Decathlon with her best friend, Tallulah. Then, she’ll finish her life’s work: Metaphorical Math. And in the meantime, she and Tallulah will maintain their secret, El Jardin Muerto. Nothing can stop Piper . . . except for puberty.

Piper was diagnosed with early-onset puberty, and she’s been taking blockers to keep it at bay since she was six years old. But now her doctor thinks it’s time for her treatment to end, and Piper’s eyes are opened to a completely new world.

Piper sees the issues that her older sister and her mom struggle with and gets a very clear picture of her own future—one that she’s not sure she likes. Will a changing body change all of Piper’s plans? And why does she have to grow up in the first place? Or does she?

About the Author


Caela Carter is a writer and an educator. She is a graduate of the New School’s MFA program in writing for children. She has written three books for middle grade readers: One Speck of TruthMy Life with the Liars, and Forever, or a Long, Long Time, which received three starred reviews, among other accolades. Caela lives in Brooklyn with her family. You can visit her online at www.caelacarter.com.

Praise For…


“Piper is surrounded by a warm, wonderful, and well-rounded group of characters. The novel explores serious themes but Piper and Tallulah are so vibrant that they keep the story moving at a satisfying pace.” — Booklist

“With complexity and warmth, Carter centers a seventh grader with big plans for her future, none of which involve growing up.” — Publishers Weekly

“Sparks eloquent insights. Thought-provoking….Perceptive.” — Kirkus Reviews



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062996664
ISBN-10: 0062996665
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: March 19th, 2024
Pages: 384
Language: English