Back to top

Aftershock: A Thriller (Aftershock Series #1) (Paperback)

Aftershock: A Thriller (Aftershock Series #1) Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Aftershock Series series.



Dell, an ex-Legionnaire was working as a mercenary when he first saw Dolly, a nurse with Médecins Sans Frontières. When they later married, Dell abandoned his work, and Dolly shed her identity. But not her calling—she became a teacher, confidant, and defender of dozens of teenagers in their Coastal Oregon village. When the star softball pitcher guns down a popular boy on the last day of school, Dolly knows this is no "school shooting". She goes all-in to protect "Mighty Mary" McCoy, even to the extent of unleashing her lethal husband.

As Dolly uses her contacts to gain access to medical secrets, Dell returns to his no-boundaries past. Using guile, extortion, shadow networks--and, finally, an act of terrorism—he uncovers the secret MaryLou was willing to sacrifice her own life to protect . . . a soul-killing rite of passage demanded of the town’s most vulnerable girls, with her baby sister next on that list.

About the Author

Andrew Vachss is a lawyer who represents children and youths exclusively. His many books include the Burke series and three collections of short stories. His novels have been translated into twenty languages, and his work has appeared in Parade, Antaeus, Esquire, Playboy, and The New York Times, among other publications.
The dedicated website for Andrew Vachss and his work is

Praise For…

“Andrew Vachss impresses again with his new, dark and compelling thriller.” —Largehearted Boy

“The baddest noir stylist of them all.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Razor-edged and compulsively readable, the pages fly by.” —Library Journal
"Disquieting but engrossing. . . . Vachss explores the horrific intersection of victims and victimizers, evil and avengers. The setting has moved from urban to small town, but the eternal conflict is as it ever was.” —Booklist 
Product Details
ISBN: 9780307950888
ISBN-10: 0307950883
Publisher: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard
Publication Date: March 11th, 2014
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: Aftershock Series