Back to top

Symphony of Jewels: Anna Hu Opus 1 (Hardcover)

Symphony of Jewels: Anna Hu Opus 1 By Carol Woolton, David Warren, David Behl (By (photographer)), Janet Zapata Cover Image
Call to check availability


Inspired by Chinese art and lore, Western art and music, and the natural world, Anna Hu’s one-of-a-kind pieces have catapulted her to the top of the jewelry firmament in a few short years. This volume celebrates the completion of her first 100 works, or “Opus 1,” as she calls the collection. Exploring the relationship between her jewelry and fashion as well as the remarkable gems that inspired her work, this large-format book focuses on the pieces themselves, exquisitely photographed by master jewelry photographer David Behl. Some are as intricate as Chinese embroidery, others as ethereal as butterflies, and still others are jeweled reinterpretations of timeless works of music and art, from Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata and Puccini’s Turandot to Monet’s Water Lilies.
Praise for Symphony of Jewels:
"This book details [Hu's] first 99 works—many inspired by classical pieces—in exquisite detail." —Cleveland Plain Dealer

About the Author

Janet Zapata is a renowned historian of decorative arts and jewelry. Carol Woolton is jewelry editor of British Vogue. David Warren has headed Christie’s jewelry department since 1995. David Behl is one of the world’s leading photographers of fine jewels. His many books include The Art of Zadora, Seaman Schepps, and Yard.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780865652903
ISBN-10: 0865652902
Publisher: Vendome Press
Publication Date: September 1st, 2012
Pages: 168
Language: English