Back to top

A Girl's Guide to Love & Magic (Hardcover)

A Girl's Guide to Love & Magic By Debbie Rigaud Cover Image
$18.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Perfect for fans of The Sun Is Also a Star and Blackout, this YA novel from Debbie Rigaud is a celebration of Haitian and Caribbean culture, and a story of first love, vodou, and finding yourself, all set against the backdrop of the West Indian Day Parade in Brooklyn.

Cicely Destin lives for the West Indian Day Parade, the joyous celebration of Caribbean culture that takes over the streets of her neighborhood. She loves waving the Haitian flag, sampling delicious foods, and cheering for the floats. And this year? She’ll get to hang with her stylish aunt, an influencer known for dabbling in Haitian Vodou.

And maybe spot her dreamy crush, Kwame, in the crowd.

But fate has other ideas. Before the parade, a rogue, mischievous spirit seems to take possession of Cicely's aunt during a spiritual reading. Cicely hardly knows anything about Vodou, or how to get someone un-possessed. But it’s up to her to set things right--and the clock is ticking. She'll have to enlist the help of her quick-thinking best friend, Renee, and, as luck would have it...Kwame.

Cicely, her friends, and the reckless spirit who is now their charge set off on a thrilling scavenger hunt to gather the ceremonial items they need. And along the way, will Cicely discover surprising powers of her on?

Bestselling author Debbie Rigaud infuses this novel with sparkling wit, romance, and nuance that will keep readers riveted and enchanted.

About the Author


Debbie Rigaud is the coauthor of Alyssa Milano’s New York Times bestselling Hope series and the author of Simone Breaks All the Rules and Truly Madly Royally. She grew up in East Orange, New Jersey, and started her career writing for entertainment and teen magazines. She now lives with her husband and children in Columbus, Ohio. Find out more at debbierigaud.com.

Praise For…


Praise for A Girl’s Guide to Love & Magic:

*"Rigaud explores many elements of Haitian and Afro-Caribbean culture thoughtfully and with an admirable vulnerability as Cicely adventures down Eastern Parkway navigating stigma and magic, devils and allies, family legacies and shame en route to a rich, magical sort of self-discovery. Steeped in the magic of first kisses, family bonds, and joyful community." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"A Girl's Guide to Love & Magic is brimming with Haitian pride and features Cicely, full of heart and courage, as she navigates a budding romance, the vibrant streets of Brooklyn during Carnival, and a mystery that unveils the power of Vodou. Fresh, soulful, and a book I needed as a teen!" --Ibi Zoboi, New York Times Bestselling Author of Pride

"Debbie Rigaud writes stories that remind Black girls just how beautiful and magical they truly are. Every book is a joy from cover to cover." --Leah Johnson, bestselling author of You Should See Me in a Crown

"A Girl’s Guide to Love & Magic invites readers on a wild ride full of love for friends, family, and Caribbean culture. Cicely's adventurous spin about her beloved Brooklyn celebrates the risks and thrills of following your heart and the power that comes with carrying our ancestors with us." --Nina Moreno, author of Don’t Date Rosa Santos

Praise for Simone Breaks All the Rules:

"Simone is a wonderfully crafted character, and Rigaud uses the awkwardness of the late bloomers' attempts to be cool with perfect comedic timing. This is a great depiction of Haitian American culture that both affirms and informs. Offering a steady mix of romance and humor, this is a home run." -- Kirkus Reviews

"We need more rom-coms like this! Hilarious and relatable, with a romance that will make you swoon, and a twist that I did not see coming." -- Tami Charles, New York Times bestselling author of All Because You Matter and Muted

"Simone is the friend we wished we had growing up -- to laugh with, cry with, sneak out the house with, and see ourselves in. Simone Breaks All the Rules strolls boldly into your heart and stays there long after the final page." -- Maika and Maritza Moulite, authors of Dear Haiti, Love Alaine and One of the Good Ones

"As specifically Haitian and universally relatable as it gets. Simone is an instant star. Her heartbreaks are as heartwarming and cheer-worthy as her victories." -- Ben Philippe, award-winning author of Charming as a Verb

"Crackles with realism, humor, and affection... Fans of Jenny Han and Brandy Colbert will find much to cheer about in this entertaining and charming novel." -- School Library Journal

"Rigaud infuses a delightfully funny narrative with a diaspora-specific lesson -- Simone learning to value the sacrifices of her immigrant parents -- within a universally relatable tale of seeking oneself and independence amid warm relationships with family, friends, and community." -- Publishers Weekly

"Crackles with realism, humor, and affection... Fans of Jenny Han and Brandy Colbert will find much to cheer about in this entertaining and charming novel." -- School Library Journal

"Rigaud infuses a delightfully funny narrative with a diaspora-specific lesson -- Simone learning to value the sacrifices of her immigrant parents -- within a universally relatable tale of seeking oneself and independence amid warm relationships with family, friends, and community." -- Publishers Weekly

Praise for Truly Madly Royally:

A Junior Library Guild Selection

"The Princess Diaries meets Meghan and Harry in this swoony rom-com!" -- In Touch Magazine

"Readers will root for smart, talented Zora as she navigates the world of the rich; her voice is humorous, and her imperfect family is believable. A light and entertaining tale that also addresses serious real-world topics." -- Kirkus Reviews

"If you want a royal romance you can tackle in an afternoon at the pool while rooting for a heroine who may be way out of even a prince's league, pick this one up." -- Booklist



Product Details
ISBN: 9781338681741
ISBN-10: 1338681745
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: August 2nd, 2022
Pages: 288
Language: English