Back to top

Little Nothings (Hardcover)

Little Nothings Cover Image
$26.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


For readers of Give Me Your Hand and Something in the Water, a gripping thriller set on the Greek Isles.

Liv has never been a woman with a lot of female friends, but when she meets fellow new moms Beth and Binnie in a Mommy and Me play group, she knows she's finally found her best friends for life. Together, the three of them embrace being new parents: pulling together scrappy weekly dinners, sharing their favorite tips and tricks for caring for their kids, and trading in-jokes and references.

But then Binnie introduces Ange. Rich, beautiful, and capable, somehow, of doing it all, Ange changes the dynamics of their little group, and not for the better. While the others follow Ange's decorating tips for their new houses and move their scrappy dinners to expensive restaurants, Liv finds herself on the outside, scrambling to fit in with the people she could always be herself around. When Ange suggests a trip to Greece to celebrate their girl gang, Liv knows she has to go-even though her family really can't afford it-or be left out of the group for good. Once on the islands though, Ange makes it clear that trip or no trip, Liv will always be second string. As long as Ange is around, there's no returning to the way things were. But Liv wants her friendships back-and she'll do whatever it takes to make that happen.

Set over the course of a single, life changing trip to the Greek isles, Little Nothings is a gripping thriller about the dark side of female friendship, the competitive nature of modern motherhood, and the desperate ends one lonely woman will go to keep her friends close.

About the Author


Julie Mayhew is a journalist, novelist, and screenwriter. She is the author of the adult novel Impossible Causes and the young adult novels Red Ink and The Big Lie. She lives in Hertfordshire, England, with her family.
Website: www.juliemayhew.co.uk, Twitter: @juliemayhew

Praise For…


Little Nothings delivers some searing and uncomfortable truths about motherhood and female friendship. Beautifully drawn characters, thrown together in the pressure cooker nightmare that is a group holiday. Entirely and chillingly relatable.” —Sarah Naughton, author of THE GIRLFRIEND

“Mayhew explores both the affirming side of female friendships and the darker currents of judgmental talk, financial peer pressure, and neediness. . . . Driven by an honest, authentic main character who is imperfect and damaged.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Devilishly clever and beautifully written.” —Alice Clark-Platts, author of THE FLOWER GIRLS

“The picture that emerges is an important one, concerning itself with the external governance of women's bodies, their actions and their fates.” —New York Times Book Review on IMPOSSIBLE CAUSES

“Claustrophobic… well-written… the final scene is chilling.” —Literary Review on IMPOSSIBLE CAUSES

“Devilishly clever and beautifully written” —Alice Clark-Platts

Little Nothings delivers some searing and uncomfortable truths about motherhood and female friendship. Beautifully drawn characters, thrown together in the pressure cooker nightmare that is a group holiday. Entirely and chillingly relatable.” —Sarah Naughton



Product Details
ISBN: 9781526606341
ISBN-10: 1526606348
Publisher: Raven Books
Publication Date: June 21st, 2022
Pages: 272
Language: English