Back to top

ELI CRANOR WITH ACE ATKINS: DON'T KNOW TOUGH

Please join us as we welcome

ELI CRANOR

in conversation with 

ACE ATKINS

FRIDAY, MARCH 11

6:00 PM

to celebrate the launch of his debut novel

DON'T KNOW TOUGH

 

*PLEASE NOTE: MASKS WILL BE REQUIRED TO ATTEND THIS EVENT*

Friday Night Lights gone dark with Southern Gothic; Eli Cranor delivers a powerful noir that will appeal to fans of Wiley Cash and Megan Abbott.

Eli Cranor knows the underbelly of Friday night lights in this stunning debut that bleeds authenticity and raw emotion. This young author is a new voice of the South to watch.
--Ace Atkins, New York Times bestselling author of The Fallen and The Sinners

 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

In Denton, Arkansas, the fate of the high school football team rests on the shoulders of Billy Lowe, a volatile but talented running back. Billy comes from an extremely troubled home: a trailer park where he is terrorized by his unstable mother's abusive boyfriend. Billy takes out his anger on the field, but when his savagery crosses a line, he faces suspension.

Without Billy Lowe, the Denton Pirates can kiss their playoff bid goodbye. But the head coach, Trent Powers, who just moved from California with his wife and two children for this job, has more than just his paycheck riding on Billy's bad behavior. As a born-again Christian, Trent feels a divine calling to save Billy--save him from his circumstances, and save his soul.

Then Billy's abuser is found murdered in the Lowe family trailer, and all evidence points toward Billy. Now nothing can stop an explosive chain of violence that could tear the whole town apart on the eve of the playoffs.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Eli Cranor played quarterback at every level: peewee to professional, and then coached high school football for five years. These days, he's traded in the pigskin for a laptop, writing from Arkansas where he lives with his wife and kids. His fiction has won The Greensboro Review's Robert Watson Literary Prize and been a runner-up for The Missouri Review's Miller Prize. Eli also writes a nationally syndicated sports column, "Athletic Support," and his craft column, "Shop Talk," appears monthly at CrimeReads. His debut novel, Don't Know Tough, won the Peter Lovesey First Crime Novel Contest. Eli is currently at work on his next novel.

 

 

Event date: 
Friday, March 11, 2022 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
387 Perkins Ext.
Memphis, TN 38117
Don't Know Tough Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781641293457
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Soho Crime - March 22nd, 2022