Back to top

R.J. Lee: Grand Slam Murders

Event Image: 
About the book:
 
In R. J. Lee’s cozy mystery debut Grand Slam Murders: A Bridge to Death Mystery, members of an exclusive Mississippi bridge club are being killed off one by one, and it’s up to newspaper reporter Wendy Winchester to find out the truth.

When the four wealthy widows who make up the venerable Rosalie Bridge Club never get up from their card table, this quiet Mississippi town has its first quadruple homicide. Who put cyanide in their sugar bowl? An aspiring member and kibitzer with the exclusive club, Wendy takes a personal interest in finding justice for the ladies. She also has a professional motivation. A frustrated society columnist for the Rosalie Citizen, she's ready to deal herself a better hand as an investigative reporter. This could be her big break. Plus, she has a card or two up her sleeve: her sometimes boyfriend is a detective and her dad is the local chief of police.

Partnering up with the men in her life, Wendy starts shuffling through suspects and turning over secrets long held close to the chest by the ladies. But when a wild card tries to take her out of the game, Wendy decides it's time to up the ante before she's the next one to go down...
 
With its Mississippi setting and its cast of zany characters, Grand Slam Murders will appeal to fans of Leslie Meier, Lee Hollis, Barbara Ross, and fans of quirky Southern cozies.
 
About the author:
 
R.J. Lee is the second generation of his family to write mysteries for a New York publisher. He follows in the footsteps of his father, R. Keene Lee, who wrote fighter pilot and detective stories for Fiction House, publishers of Wings Magazine and other ‘pulp fiction’ periodicals in the late ‘40’s and ‘50’s. Lee was born and grew up in the Mississippi River port of Natchez but also spent thirty years living in the Crescent City of New Orleans. A graduate of the University of the South (Sewanee) where he studied creative writing under Sewanee Review editor, Andrew Lytle, Lee now resides in Oxford, Mississippi, truly a writer-friendly, college town.
Event date: 
Sunday, February 3, 2019 - 2:00pm
Event address: 
387 Perkins Ext.
Memphis, TN 38117
Grand Slam Murders (A Bridge to Death Mystery #1) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781496719140
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Kensington - January 29th, 2019